top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMikaela Sarran

The Loudest Silence


Wondering why I titled this "The Loudest Silence"?..... let me explain.


Valentines day or "the day of love" has passed now but we still constantly think of the word love. Well, let me ask you this..... what does "love" mean to you?


For me, Love, means caring about someone beyond everything and wanting for them to have everything in the world no matter how much it destroys or changes you. Love is wanting more for someone than they ever would want for themselves. When you love someone.. you DON'T stop, you don't give up.


 

I am currently working on a project where I ask people to define what "love" means to them. I have gotten a wide range of answers in a variety of languages. I got the inspiration to combine all of the answers to create a track from the last spoken word piece I did. My piece will be called "The Definition of Love" which is located near the bottom of my main page if you are interested in hearing it.


When beginning the project, I noticed a lot of the people I asked to define love in their own words struggled with thinking of the right words to express how they felt. A lot of the younger people I asked said things like "being kind", "holding the door for some one" or "what it feels like when you love someone with your whole entire heart." and a lot of the older people I asked said things like "putting someone else's happiness before yours", "forgiving someone who hurt you," and "always being there for one another." It seems as though we all have a different but similar grasp on what "love" is.


Love could simply be a small gesture whether that be holding the door for someone or saying "please" and "thank you". Love comes in many different shapes and sizes and can be both physical and emotional. I believe that love doesn't have one single definition. Love is shared unconditionally whether we physically see it or not.


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

American College Dance Association

For the past 3 years I have been so fortunate to attend the American College Dance Association or ACDA. ACDAs primary focus is to support and promote the wealth of talent and creativity that is promi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page