top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMikaela Sarran

American College Dance Association

For the past 3 years I have been so fortunate to attend the American College Dance Association or ACDA. ACDAs primary focus is to support and promote the wealth of talent and creativity that is prominent throughout college and university dance departments. ACDA also provide the unique opportunity for students and faculty to have their dance works adjudicated by a panel of nationally recognized dance professionals in an open and constructive forum. The conferences are the primary means for college and university dance programs to perform outside their own academic setting and be exposed to the diversity of the national college dance world.


During my junior year, UMD hosted ACDA, I was lucky enough to take classes as well as monitor classes. I was able to watch performances and help organize the event.


During my senior year, I attended ACDA at the University of Wisconsin - Maddison. A student choreographer set a solo piece on me to bring to perform in the informal concert. To be completely honest, this performance was one of my worst performances, but to this day I continually reflect on how that performance has changed me and made me a better performer. Prior to this performance I hadn't performed a solo piece for 4 years. Before my performance I was alone and my nerves were awful. I went out and was so shakey and forgot parts of my performance and had to improvise on the spot. Let's just say it was one of my rougher performances.


During my super senior year, I was so grateful and lucky to bring my own piece to ACDA. The idea for this piece was created during the summer before I started my super senior year. From there I actually choreographed the piece for UMDs dance concert - Dance Works - and from there I was lucky enough to be able to represent UMD at the regional ACDA at the University of Minnesota - Morris.

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Loudest Silence

Wondering why I titled this "The Loudest Silence"?..... let me explain. Valentines day or "the day of love" has passed now but we still constantly think of the word love. Well, let me ask you this....

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page